EUROPE-COM : draft list of co-formulants banned in PPP

The EU draft regulation implementing the list of co-formulants that shall not be used in plant protection products or adjuvants (Annex III of Regulation (EC) No. 1107/2009) was discussed in the SCoPAFF meeting of 16 and 17 July 2019.

Co-formulants are unacceptable in plant protection products if it is established that their use or their residues have a harmful effect on human or animal health or have an unacceptable effect on plants or on the environment.

According to the draft list, the following co-formulants are considered as unacceptable:

– substances with a harmonized classification as carcinogens, category 1A or 1B, or as cell mutagens, category 1A or 1B, or as toxic to reproduction, category 1A or 1B,

– substances identified as persistent, bioaccumulative and toxic (PBT) or very persistent and very bioaccumulative (vPvB),

– substances identified as substances of very high concern due to endocrine disrupting properties,

– substances identified as Persistent Organic Pollutants (POP),

– substances restricted under REACH where their use as a co-formulant in plant protection products is covered by the restriction,

– substances already identified as unacceptable co-formulants for plant protection products by Member States (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Lithuania, Spain and Norway) or during the renewal of approval process of active substance (i.e. POE-tallowamines),

– in-can preservatives that were not approved under the Biocide Regulation (EU) No 528/2012 due to unacceptable risks for human health and the environment (i.e. PHMB),

 

The draft regulation sets that unacceptable co-formulants may be present as unintentional impurities in other co-formulants provided their individual concentration in the finished plant protection product or adjuvant is less than 0.01 % (w/w) unless a different LoQ (Limit of Quantification) is provided.

At last, the draft Regulation sets that Member States must withdraw authorisations of products containing any of the listed unacceptable co-formulants at the latest by 2 years after entry into force of the list. A grace period of 12 months may be granted.

To download:

Draft Commission Regulation modifying Annex III of Regulation (EC) 1107/2009 and its Annex

 

Lynxee consulting’s team is at your disposal to answer your questions.

Contact us! http://lynxee.consulting/en/contact/

EUROPE-COM : projet de liste de co-formulants interdits dans les PPP

Le projet de règlement européen établissant la liste des co-formulants qui ne peuvent pas être utilisés dans les produits phytopharmaceutiques ou les adjuvants (Annexe III du Règlement (CE) N° 1107/2009) a été présenté pour discussion lors de la réunion des 16 et 17 juillet 2019 du SCoPAFF.

Les co-formulants ne peuvent pas être acceptés dans les produits phytopharmaceutiques lorsqu’il a été établi que leur utilisation ou leurs résidus ont un effet nocif sur la santé humaine ou animale ou un effet inacceptable sur les plantes ou sur l’environnement.

D’après le projet de liste, les co-formulants ci-dessous sont jugés inacceptables :

– les substances avec une classification harmonisée comme cancérogènes, catégories 1A ou 1B, ou comme mutagènes, catégories 1A or 1B, ou comme toxique pour la reproduction, catégories 1A or 1B,

– les substances identifiées comme persistantes, bioaccumulables et toxiques (PBT) ou très persistantes et très bioaccumulables (tPtB),

– les substances identifiées comme des substances très préoccupantes du fait de leurs propriétés perturbant le système endocrinien,

– les substances identifiées comme des Polluants Organiques Persistants (POP),

– les substances faisant l’objet d’une restriction sous REACH et dont l’utilisation en tant que co-formulant dans des produits phytopharmaceutiques est couverte par cette restriction,

– les substances ayant déjà été identifiées comme des co-formulants inacceptables dans des produits phytopharmaceutiques par des Etats Membres (Autriche, Belgique, France, Allemagne, Italie, Lituanie, Espagne et Norvège) ou lors du processus de renouvellement d’approbation de substance active (i.e. POE-tallowamines),

– les substances de protection n’ayant pas été approuvées selon le Règlement Biocide (UE) N° 528/2012 parce qu’elles présentaient des risques inacceptables pour la santé humaine et pour l’environnement (i.e. PHMB),

D’après le projet de règlement, les co-formulants inacceptables peuvent être présents en tant qu’impuretés non-intentionnelles dans d’autres co-formulants si leur teneur individuelle dans le produit phytopharmaceutique fini est inférieure à 0.01 % (m/m) sauf si une LoQ (Limite de Quantification) différente est établie.

Enfin, le projet de règlement précise que les Etats Membres devront retirer les autorisations des produits  phytopharmaceutiques contenant des co-formulants listés comme inacceptables dans les 2 ans qui suivront l’entrée en vigueur de la liste. Les périodes de grâce accordées ne pourront pas excéder 12 mois.

A télécharger :

Projet de Règlement modifiant l’Annexe III du Règlement (CE) 1107/2009 et son Annexe (en anglais)

 

L’équipe de Lynxee consulting est à votre disposition pour répondre à vos questions.

Contactez-nous ! http://lynxee.consulting/contact/